Editor's Bios

James H. Hageman received his B.S. in chemistry at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, and his Ph.D. in biochemistry at UCLA (1968) and was a postdoc at Yale University. As a faculty in Chemistry and Biochemistry at New Mexico State University for 29 years, he served as mentor for high school, undergraduate and graduate students and post-docs. Over 45 undergraduate students from historically underserved groups did research in his lab; several authored publications. He served as Graduate School Dean and V.P. for Research at Central Michigan University (2000-2006) and as Associate V.C. for Research at the University of Colorado, Denver (2006-2011).

Desmond H. Murray is Associate Professor of Chemistry at Andrews University, Chemistry Instructor for Berrien County Math Science Center, and Founder of Building Excellence in Science and Technology (BEST Early; www.bestearly.com). Over the last 20 years teaching both high school and college he has advocated for and facilitated seamless early research. Murray has mentored about 1000 students in early research experiences he describes as ‘incubators of innovators.’ He was recognized as the 2012 College Science Teacher of the Year by the Michigan Science Teachers Association for his ongoing passion, mission and work to realize the universal adoption of early research.

Sherine O. Obare is a Full Professor and the Associate Chair in the Department of Chemistry at Western Michigan University. Her research focuses on nanoscale science, environmental chemistry and has significant experience in methods to improve student success. Dr. Obare’s research program has been funded by the National Science Foundation, Department of Defense, Army Research Office, National Institutes of Health, Department of Education, and the Michigan Economic Development Corporation. She was named as one of the top 25 Women Professors in Michigan. She is co-Editor of ‘Green Technologies for the Environment’ and serves as Associate Editor for Journal of Nanomaterials.